Stanzi named to Davey OBrien watch list

IOWA CITY, IA - University of Iowa senior quarterback Ricky Stanzi is one of 30 of the nation's top collegiate quarterbacks named to the 2010 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List. The list, released Wednesday by the O'Brien National Selection Committee, includes 13 seniors, 13 juniors and four sophomores.
Stanzi (6-4, 230) is a native of Mentor, Ohio. He was a semifinalist for the Davey O'Brien Award a year ago after leading Iowa to an 11-2 overall record, including a 24-14 victory over ACC champion Georgia Tech in the FedEx Orange Bowl and a final ranking of seventh in the nation in both major polls.
Stanzi has posted an 18-4 record as Iowa's starting quarterback over the last two seasons, including January bowl victories each year. In career statistics, Stanzi heads into his final season ranked sixth in career passing yards (4,373) and touchdowns (31). He has completed 321-562 career pass attempts (.571). His season passing total of 2,417 yards in 2009 ranks 11th among single season leaders at Iowa and his 2008 total of 1,956 yards ranks 20th.
As a junior, Stanzi shared the Roy J. Carver Most Valuable Player Award and was a permanent team captain. He earned honorable mention all-America by Pro Football Weekly and was honorable mention all-Big Ten. He started all 11 games in which he played last season, missing two games due to injury. His season totals included completing 171-304 passes for 2,417 yards and 17 touchdowns, with 15 interceptions.
Stanzi is one of four Hawkeyes to be named to various pre-season Watch Lists for the upcoming season, joining DE Adrian Clayborn (Rotary Lombardi, Bronko Nagurski), DT Karl Klug (Outland) and DB Tyler Sash (Lott Trophy, Bronko Nagurski). Stanzi is one of three Big Ten quarterbacks on the pre-season list, joining Ohio State's Terrelle Pryor and Wisconsin's Scott Tolzien.
Two former Hawkeye quarterbacks have been honored with the Davey O'Brien Award as the top quarterback in the nation. Chuck Long earned the honor in 1985 and Brad Banks was recognized in 2002 after each led the Hawkeyes to a Big Ten title.
The Davey O'Brien Award is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The 16 semifinalists for the 2010 award will be announced Monday, Oct. 25, with three finalists to be named Monday, Nov. 22. The award is presented as part of The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Award Show on Thursday, Dec. 9.
2010 O'Brien Watch List
Matt Barkley USC SO Pac-10
Zach Collaros Cincinnati JR Big East
Andy Dalton TCU SR MWC
Dwight Dasher Middle Tennessee SR Sun Belt
Ricky Dobbs Navy SR Independent
Nathan Enderle Idaho SR WAC
Nick Foles Arizona JR Pac-10
Blaine Gabbert Missouri JR Big 12
Robert Griffin Baylor JR Big 12
Jacory Harris Miami JR ACC
Jerrod Johnson Texas A&M JR Big 12
Landry Jones Oklahoma SO Big 12
Colin Kaepernick Nevada SR WAC
Case Keenum Houston SR C-USA
G.J. Kinne Tulsa JR C-USA
Jake Locker Washington SR Pac-10
Andrew Luck Stanford SO Pac-10
Ryan Mallett Arkansas JR SEC
Greg McElroy Alabama JR SEC
Kellen Moore Boise State JR WAC
Josh Nesbitt Georgia Tech SR ACC
Kyle Padron SMU SO C-USA
Christian Ponder Florida State SR ACC
Taylor Potts Texas Tech SR Big 12
Terrelle Pryor Ohio State JR Big Ten
Tom Savage Rutgers SO Big East
Ricky Stanzi Iowa SR Big Ten
Tyrod Taylor Virginia Tech SR ACC
Scott Tolzien Wisconsin SR Big Ten
Russell Wilson NC State JR ACC