Iowa announces team awards

IOWA CITY, IA - - Senior offensive lineman Marshal Yanda and junior linebacker Mike Klinkenborg have been named co-winners of the 2006 Roy J. Carver Most Valuable Player Award for Iowa's football team. The announcement came today (Saturday) at the team's annual awards banquet in Iowa City.
The Hawkeyes finished their regular season with a 6-6 overall record. Iowa will meet defending national champion Texas in the 2006 Alamo Bowl on Dec. 30th in San Antonio, TX. It will be Iowa's sixth straight bowl appearance and fourth time in the Alamo Bowl. Iowa had previously played in a school record four straight January bowl games.
Yanda, a 6-5, 300-pounder from Anamosa, IA, started all 12 games at one of the tackle spots for Iowa. He was named to the second all-Big Ten team (media) and honorable mention team by the coaches. Yanda transferred to Iowa after playing two years at North Iowa Area community college. He is a member of Iowa's Leadership Council.
Klinkenborg, a 6-2, 240-pounder from Rock Rapids, IA, was Iowa's leading tackler by a wide margin. He had 129 stops (second place Ed Miles had 93). He was credited with five tackles for loss (12 yards), one sack and two fumble recoveries. Mike was named the Walter Camp Defensive Player of the Week for his play in Iowa's 27-17 win over Iowa State. His efforts came just a week following the sudden death of his father. Klinkenborg is also a first-team academic all-American.
Both Yanda and Klinkenborg shared in numerous other awards given out at the banquet.
Yanda won the Hayden Fry "Extra Heartbeat" Award. The award is given in honor of Iowa's Hall of Fame coach who retired after the 1998 season. It goes to a player who gives that little bit extra at all times. Yanda was also given the Iron Hawk Award. It is presented to a Hawkeye who has given his all every play for the entire season and has represented his team and school in an exemplary fashion.
Three players share the "Next Man In Award". On offense, sophomore offensive tackle Seth Olsen is the winner. Defensively, redshirt freshman defensive back Marcus Wilson took the award. Receiving the award for special teams play was sophomore tight end Tony Moeaki. All of the winners of this award replaced a starter who left the lineup with an injury and continued to deliver excellent performances.
Senior offensive lineman Mike Elgin was named winner of the Forest Evashevski Scholastic Achievement Award. The award goes annually to a player(s) who displays a high degree of proficiency in both the classroom and on the playing field. Elgin is a two-time first team academic all-American and a three-time member of the academic all-Big Ten team. He is a mechanical engineering major.
The 2006 Coaches Appreciation Awards went to five players. Offensively, the award went to offensive lineman Mike Elgin and running back Albert Young. It's the second straight year Young has shared in this award. Defensively, the honor went to linebacker Mike Klinkenborg and defensive end Bryan Mattison. Tight end Ryan Majerus won the special team portion of the award.
Senior punter Andy Fenstermaker was named winner of the Reggie Roby Special Team Specialist of the Year. Defensive back Miguel Merrick was named winner of the overall Reggie Roby Special Teams Player of the Year Award. The awards are named after the late Iowa punter who was first-team all-American in 1981 and 1982. Roby died in 2005. He punted in the NFL for 16 years.
The Hawkeye Hustle Awards went to four players. On offense, the winner is fullback Tom Busch while end Bryan Mattison wins it on defense. Both are repeat winners of the award. The special team winners are defensive back Charles Godfrey and wide receiver Trey Stross.
Team Leader Awards were given to offensive lineman Bryan Ryther and quarterback Arvell Nelson. Defensively the award went to lineman Jared Oberland, end Adrian Clayborn and linebacker Anton Narinskiy.
Yanda and Elgin (offense), Klinkenborg and Mattison (defense) and Merrick (special teams) were named permanent captains for the 2006 season. Klinkenborg and Mattison are juniors while the others are seniors. The five will also serve as captains in this year's Alamo Bowl on Dec. 30th in San Antonio.
The "Win During the Week Award" went to senior quarterback Jason Manson.
The "Player Appreciation Award" went to Iowa businessman Bruce Rastetter of Iowa Falls. Bruce is a 1978 Iowa graduate and long-time supporter of the Hawkeyes. He has gained prominence with his work in agriculture and ethanol production.
The Bump Elliott Appreciation Award went to Pete Van Elswyk, a long time athletic department employee who heads up the maintenance of Kinnick Stadium. Pete is at Kinnick Stadium long before anyone gets there and long after everyone has left.