Iowa vs. LSU in the Outback Bowl

The Hawkeye Football team knew they were going to a bowl game. On Sunday they found out that they will be spending their time in Florida as Iowa was invited to play in the 2014 Outback Bowl.
The Hawkeyes will face LSU from the Southeastern Conference. The Tigers posted a 9-3 record this season and last played Iowa in the Capital One Bowl in the 2004-05 season.
The 2014 Outback Bowl will be broadcast on ESPN with a 1 PM ET/12 PM CT kickoff. Mike Tirico and John Gruden are expected to be the announcers for the game.
If you are interested in attending the game in person and looking for great seats, then is the place to go for the best tickets and the lowest prices. Visit our partners at and check out the tickets they have available for the 2014 Outback Bowl right here and pick up your seats today.
Coming off a 4-8 season, many didn't expect the Hawkeyes to be in contention for a New Year's Day Bowl in Florida, but after winning four of their last five, including the last three games of the season, Iowa finished with an 8-4 record and 5-3 in conference play.
Iowa has a pretty strong history in Florida bowl games under Kirk Ferentz. They have played in the 2003 Orange Bowl and lost to USC 38-17. Then they returned to Florida the next three years with a trip to the Outback Bowl, then the Capital One Bowl, followed by another visit to the Outback Bowl.
In their first trip to the Outback Bowl the Hawkeyes dominated the Florida Gators, 37-17 with Fred Russell rushing for 150 yards and earning MVP honors. The 2005 Capital One Bowl was one of the most exciting finishes in Iowa Football history. Drew Tate, who was named MVP, threw a 56 yard bomb to Warren Holloway on the final play of the game and Iowa defeated LSU, 30-25. Iowa returned to the Outback Bowl in 2006 and the Hawkeyes rallied from a 24-7 halftime deficit only to fall 31-24 to the Florida Gators.
Iowa returned to Florida to play in the 2009 Outback Bowl where they rolled past South Carolina 31-10 with Shonn Greene earning MVP honors and then declaring for the NFL Draft following the game. The last trip by the Hawkeyes to the state of Florida was a successful one. The Hawkeyes dominated Georgia Tech in the 2010 Orange Bowl, 24-14 with Adrian Clayborn earning MVP honors.
Under Hayden Fry that Hawkeyes made one trip to Florida. They played in the 1983 Gator Bowl against Florida in frigid temperatures and lost 14-6.