Several Hawkeyes earn All Big Ten honors

IOWA CITY, IA - The University of Iowa football team has begun reaping the rewards of a spectacular 10-2 regular season. Seven Iowa players have been named to either the Coaches or Media first all-Big Ten teams. Junior offensive tackle Bryan Bulaga has been named the Offensive Lineman of the Year and Head Coach Kirk Ferentz, for the third time, is the Big Ten's Dave McClain Coach of the Year.
The Hawkeyes just completed regular season play with a 10-2 overall record and a second place (6-2) Big Ten finish. Iowa will play in a yet to be determined New Year's Day (or later) bowl game. It's only the fourth time in history that an Iowa team has won 10 games in the regular season.
Earning first-team all-Big Ten honors are Bulaga, senior offensive guard Dace Richardson, senior tight end Tony Moeaki, junior defensive end Adrian Clayborn, senior linebacker Pat Angerer and defensive backs Tyler Sash (sophomore) and Amari Spievey (junior). Bulaga, Clayborn, Angerer and Sash made the first unit as named by both the coaches and the media. Spievey, Richardson and Moeaki were on the coaches' first unit. All seven are on the first unit for the first time. The seven Iowa players picked to the Coaches' team are a league high (Penn State had six).

Article Continues Below
Named to the second coaches unit were senior linebacker A.J. Edds, senior center Rafael Eubanks and junior wide receiver Derrell Johnson-Koulianos. Named to the media's second team were Eubanks, Moeaki, senior offensive tackle Kyle Calloway, Spievey and junior free safety Brett Greenwood.
Making the coaches honorable mention list were junior defensive tackles Christian Ballard and Karl Klug, junior punter Ryan Donahue and freshman running back Adam Robinson. Also on that list were Calloway and Greenwood. The media honorable mention list included Donahue, sophomore defensive end Broderick Binns, Edds, Johnson-Koulianos, Klug, junior place-kicker Daniel Murray, Robinson and junior quarterback Ricky Stanzi.
Bulaga, a 6-6, 315-pound junior from Crystal Lake, IL, is the sixth Hawkeye offensive lineman to win league lineman of the year accolades. Previous winners include Mike Haight (1985), Dave Croston (1986), Mike Devlin (1992), Eric Steinbach (2002) and Robert Gallery (2003). Bulaga was a second team all-Big Ten selection in 2008 and was named to the 2009 pre-season watch lists for the Outland Trophy and Rotary Lombardi Outstanding Lineman Award.
Ferentz is the Big Ten Coach of the Year for the third time in the last eight years. Only Michigan's Bo Schembechler has won the honor more times than Ferentz. Ferentz is just winding up his 11th year with the Hawkeyes. He previously won the Dave McClain Coach of the Year Award in 2002 and 2004. He was Associated Press and Walter Camp National Coach of the Year in 2002. Ferentz is the second winningest coach in Hawkeye football history. He has a career record of 92-76 and is 80-55 at Iowa.
A.J. Edds was Iowa's honoree for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award.
See the complete list of All Big Ten selections by following the link below.